THE FEST

Had a terrific time at the Pittsburgh Knit and Crochet Festival.

Heather, we were all really sorry that you didn’t make it!! I saw some terrific ORANGE yarn you would have loved!!!

And Jillz, what happenned to you? Why didn’t BONNIE KNITS have a booth?

Sandie was going to a class that started at 9 AM, so I went to her house for 8:30 AM. She drove us over to the festival where she went off to her class and Betsy met up with me for the yarn crawling to begin. Donna and her daughter arrived a short time later.

This year the Festival was at a new venue, THE CROWN PLAZA in the South Hills The booths were smashed into two areas on the main floor of the hotel. It was very crowded and the lighting was not the best. The demonstrations areas were separated from the vendors. I did see the “felting” area, but did not see the place where the other demos were going on. The classes were spread all over the building.. 4th floor, 8th floor.. withs no bathrooms. There was a guy who was selling foodstuffs in the lobby of the hotel for totally RIDICULOUS prices. C’mon — $2.00 for a bag of chips?? (The little tiny one you can get in a vending machine??) this wasn’t DISNEY people. Your prices were ridiculous!

There were a nice selection of vendors (forty to be exact). I hadn’t been to some of the Western Pennsylvania people that had booths, so it was nice to see their stuff.

I purchased TEN patterns, a CROCHET magazine, THE GREAT AMERICAN ARAN AFGHAN book, two skeins of Claudia Handpainted fingering yarn and a kit for a tank top.

I ate pieces of candy from 6 or seven different booths (mostly cinnamon, 1 chocolate).

I oogled wonderfully delicious yarn at the booths of KINDRED SPIRITS YARN STUDIO, SOFT N’SASSY, UNCOMMON THREADS,BROOK’S FARM YARN, INTERLACEMENTS, YARNS BY DESIGN, AUTUMN HOUSE FARM, YARNS UNLIMITED, VICTORIA’S HOUSE OF NEEDLEART.(I looked at all the booths, but these were my faves)

I oo’ed and aw’ed over the jewelry and stitchmarkers.

Melted over the ALPACA yarns.

Tried to figure out if I could pull off the NONI bag with all the little felted balls on it…..(I decided no I couldn’t)

Was disappointed that the CASHMERE booth that was there last year wasn’t there. And neither were the bobbin lace or rug hooking people. 😦

We went to the South Hills Village mall for lunch. I had PANDA EXPRESS.

I showed someone how to do the magic loop.

I found someone’s wallet that had been left behind in a booth. (It was safely returned to the owner)

The clown with the over one hundred foot scarf…Stephen…ZEEEpo the Great…where was he???

I saw a guy that looked like a blond TINY TIM. Seriously. Kind of creeped me out.

I saw my mother’s best friend…..that made me feel kind of down because she was by herself, and neither one of us had my mother to go to this with.

Talked briefly to Kathy Zimmerman as she was signing autographs next to her booth.

Signed up for two mailing lists.

but the ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT of the day was that I found out I have a daughter!! Yes!!! One booth proprietor asked me if JENN of WIERDY PANTS, was my DAUGHTER! I do believe her exact words were, “Is she yours???” My son has been complaining that my hair needs dyed. Oh well, guess my age is showing.

So all in all, I had a good day. I spent all of my money. I spent the day with Sandie, Betsy and Donna. I got to see SJ, Jenn, and Charissa. I ran into Joyce, Carla, Martha, Bridget, Mary Ann, Mary Jane, Glenda, Ruth Ann, Carolyn and another Carolyn.

My feet hurt, I am broke and I can’t wait to felt a penguin (I bought the FIBER TRENDS penquin pattern).

Wish you could have joined us. Maybe next time, better yet, maybe I’ll see you at Maryland Sheep and Wool!!

Drop me a line and let me know you were here!!! 🙂

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dani on February 10, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    I was here! 😛 Sounds like you had a lot of fun. I am SOOO needing a break, that I think I need to start working on a plan to convince JC that I have to meet you guys at the MD Sheep Festival this year. I’ve got to get away from here for a while, especially if I’m not able to truly go away for a vacation this year. Operation: Wooly Mammouth

    Reply

  2. “Is she yours?” is still amusing me!

    Reply

  3. Posted by anne marie in philly on February 11, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I was here!

    sounds like you had fun.

    $2 chips? damn, what a ripoff! no bathrooms near the classrooms would also qualify.

    tiny tim? sweet FSM!!!!!

    wish I could afford interlacements……

    thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. It was great to finally meet you in person!

    As for Jenn being your daughter — was the person who said this missing his/her glasses? You could be sisters, maybe, but no way mother and daughter!

    Reply

  5. Sounds like it was great!!! Maybe next year…

    Reply

  6. Posted by DDancer on February 13, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    “Why didn’t BONNIE KNITS have a booth?”

    She broke her clavicle recently and was on Dr.’s orders not to lift. So she had to cancel.

    “The clown with the over one hundred foot scarf…Stephen…ZEEEpo the Great…where was he???”

    Only one kid signed up for his class so they cancelled it. *SIGH*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

