Hey ya’ll!

Yes, I am still here.  I have not dropped off the end of the earth, although I feel like it sometimes.

Whazzup?

Well, I have been busy worshipping at the altar I have set up to Willis Carrier.   It has been a little bit hot here in Western PA — so hot that the CACTUS have big yellow flowers on them– cactus –Now this morning is nice and cool but they are calling for 90’s next week.  Hate it.  I feel miserable when it’s hot outside and even worse when it is hot inside. What did I do growing up?  Did I just bitch and moan about it all the time like I do now?  I know my parents’ house didn’t have air conditioning until after I was married sometime.

So enough complaining about that.

School has been out since June 1st.  Fun, Fun. I am now officially the mother of a FIFTH grader. And I am definitely not smarter.  I couldn’t do the homework this year, how am I possibly going to manage next year?  He’ll be at a new school since our district has and Intermediate school for 5th and 6th grades.  How many more days ’til school starts?  67!  Not that I am counting.

Vacation will be here before you know it.  We are going to Virginia Beach.  The last time we were there, the F-16’s were patrolling the coast every 10 minutes or about, to protect the East Coast. I need to find someone to take care of Jethro. Poochalena will go to Chez Mamaw for the week but I need someone for my pal, Jethro. We put him in a kennel the last time and I will never do it again.

Franklin has written a very  cute and  funny post about  it being time for the Gay Pride Parade titled HOUSE FULL OF PRIDE.  G0 and take a look at his funny cartoons and his talented writing.

STITCH AND PITCH!  A few of us (Betsy, Heather, Donna and her family) are taking our knitting and are going to PNC Park in Pittsburgh to participate in Stitch and Pitch this year. My husband was not interested in attending.  A fun time will be had by all.  I haven’t been to PNC Park yet. My son said the reason they call it PNC park is “because they have clear bathroom stalls” –get it?  P(pee) N(and) C(see)…Oh the child is too much like me.  LOL!!

Just putzing around mostly with my knitting, not working on one thing seriously.  I have turned the heel of the first of my feather and fan socks.  Love the Claudia’s Handpainted sock yarn.

Speaking of YARN!!!!  I belong to the Rockin’ Sock Club and received a shipment this week of a yarn called FIREBIRD. Honestly this yarn is absolutely gorgeous!  It is not up on the Blue Moon Fiber Arts site yet or I would link you to it.  I just love it.  I want to get more of it.  The club was worth joining just to get this colorway.

I had a birthday since the last post.  Memorial Day.  I turned the big FIVE-OH (50).  I was horrified anticipating it, but now that it is here and gone I am ok about it.  I am still stunned by disbelief that 50 years have passed since my mother had me in the hall of Painter Memorial Hospital, because she had to sit down and have a cup of coffee with my grandmother before she went to the hospital.  I got some lurvely yarn gifts from my friends and my brother/sister-in-law.  So I had gift certificates to both Bonnie Knits  and to Knit-Wits .  At Bonnie’s (hi JILL!!) I bought EIGHT wonderful skeins of my beloved Noro Silk Garden at 50% off….yes, I did say 50% off.  Then I drove off to Knit-Wits and bought some FIESTA Rayon Boucle at a price I would never have paid if I didn’t have a gift certificate. Cough, Cough…it was….cough,  cough,  $32.50 a skein.. Shhh… don’t tell my husband that I paid that much for one skein!

But honestly, I really don’t want any of my son’s friends saying
“your mother sleeps with Lion Brand”

In other things:

The back is doing ok, thanks for asking. I am done with Physical Therapy, which I loved.  If you need some and live around here, call OSPTA and get some. (therapy).  I guess they have them all over the place, but the one I went to was especially nice.  I can move better than I have in ages.  I still have a little numbness in my right foot and toes, but nerve damage lasts a long time.

Summer television more or less sucks major dirty canal water.  To me the only thing worth watching is GHOSTHUNTERS on Sci-Fi Channel.  Love it!  What are you watching this summer?  Anything interesting?

Baseball is almost over.  My son’s team won 14 out of 18 games.  The playoffs are going on now.  After this weekend, that activity will be over.  How many days til school starts??

Well  guess I ought to move on this morning and wait for Heather to call.  Heather?  I am waiting for you to call.  I want someone to hang out with today and poor Yvonne has to work for a living.

So see ya’ll real soon.  Let me know what is happening in your world…besides the stinkin’ heat!!!!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hey…it’s cooling a little bit…the storms helped. Wait till next week though….find yourself a swimming pool!

    Reply

  2. Glad to hear you’re doing better and haven’t dropped off the face of the earth!

    Weirdy Pants Jenn and I will be at Stitch ‘n Pitch (with our men), so we’ll keep an eye out for you guys!

    Reply

  3. HI! Thanks for calling me today. I had fun! Hope to see you again soon. And I gotta ask “are your balls erupting with pride?”. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha

    Reply

  4. Glad to see you are back! Missed ‘ya! Was thinking of writing you an email to check in, but you beat me to the punch with this post. Glad you are surviving. I have a lot more days before school starts. We just got out this past Tuesday, and don’t return until after Labor Day! :-S

    Reply

  5. Sounds like you might have to enroll in Summer School to be ready for 5th Grade Cheryl.

    Reply

  6. Hiya! Glad we got to go to lunch… we need to do it this week too… Thursday???

    I’m getting insta-children on Friday… just add water…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

