THREE YEARS AGO TODAY

THREE YEARS AGO TODAY
Current mood: sad
Category: Life

Three years ago today, at 6:30 AM, I received the telephone call that ruined my life.  The nursing home where my mother was for skilled nursing care called to tell me my mother was dead.

I thought I was ready.  She had been sick for a good while.  She was dying in exactly the manner she didn’t want to die. And she told me she was ready to go, but didn’t think I was ready for it.
I thought I was.

I wasn’t.

I had been strong throughout it all. The illness, the dr trips, the surgeries, the hospital trips. Then she died and I fell apart.

Here it is three years later.  Life goes on without us. I am not together yet.  Today is the date  three years ago that ruined my life.

If you have your mother hug her today, you might not have her tomorrow.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Yvonne on June 28, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    hugs!! 🙂 We love ya.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy on June 28, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I have been thinking of you today. It never gets easier you always miss your mom. I will hug you today cause you are my sister in my heart.
    Hugs
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. Cheryl, I’m so sorry that you’re still struggling with your mom’s passing. I’m blessed to still have both my parents and do realize how fortunate I am for that. I can’t even hardly let the thought enter my mind of not having them around. Peace be with you.

    Calvin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

