I am the mother of a sixth grader.

Today is the first day of school.

I have mixed feelings. On one hand I am saying “HALLELUJAH!!!! IT’S QUIET!!”and on the other I am saying “I can’t believe my baby is growing up so fast!”

We checked our respective heights this morning and he and I were nose-to- nose.

So he is off to school with the new backpack and the cool shoes and the old t-shirt.

I was willing to buy him a couple new ones, but he said “I have enough t-shirts”….now if I’d have offered to buy him a new video game that would have been another story,

you never can have enough video games.

I remember sixth grade.  I went to SIXTH STREET school and it was all SIXTH grade.   It was closed quite awhile ago and was torn down several years ago. My friend Beth and I walked to school, which was about a mile each way.   I remember having a crush on my  male homeroom teacher.  I remember a man standing near the school and handing the girls naked photos of himself as we walked past him.  I remember changing classes for the first time.  That was a long time ago.

Time flies.

One response to this post.

  1. I remember sixth Grade it was a lot of fun!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

